ChatGPT Voice vs Gemini Live vs Claude Voice vs Krater Voice Mode: Plans, Limits and Features Compared

ChatGPT Voice vs Gemini Live vs Claude Voice vs Krater Voice Mode: Plans, Limits and Features Compared

Four AI voice modes side by side: what each plan costs, daily limits, where it runs, camera and screen, tool use, models and training defaults. From the vendors' own docs, 20 Sep 2026.

ChatGPT Voice, Gemini Live, Claude voice mode and Krater Voice Mode all give you a real time, interruptible spoken conversation with an AI. The differences are in what comes with it. ChatGPT Live gives Plus subscribers 3 hours a day for $20 and has web search and memory. Gemini Live is free in the Gemini app and is the only one that streams your camera and screen, but it does not run in a browser. Claude voice mode is free on every plan and talks with the same Claude models you use in text. Krater Voice Mode needs a paid plan ($20 and up), is billed per second of talk, and is the only one of the four that can generate images, video and songs, search the web and use your connected apps during the call.

ChatGPT Voice vs Gemini Live vs Claude Voice vs Krater Voice Mode: Plans, Limits and Features Compared

Key Takeaways

Side by side

ChatGPT Voice (Live)Gemini LiveClaude voice modeKrater Voice Mode
Free voiceYes, limited, GPT-Live-1 miniYes, standard limitsYes, beta, all plansNo, paid plans only
Cheapest paid plan with voiceGo $8 (3 h/day, mini). Plus $20 (3 h/day, GPT-Live-1)AI Plus $4.99 (2x limits). AI Pro $19.99 (4x)Pro $20 monthly, $17 on annualPro $20, 1,500 credits
Usage limitRolling 24 hours: Plus 3 h, Pro $100 15 h, Pro $200 unlimitedPlan multipliers; Live hours not publishedShares plan usage; voice hours not published0.25 credits a second, 30 minute sessions, no daily cap
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidAndroid and iOS app; Pixel Buds. Not in web appWeb, desktop app, iOS, AndroidWeb app, desktop and mobile browser
Interrupt and hands freeListens and speaks at the same time; background conversationsInterrupt any time; Hold and Mute controlsHands free by default; push to talk optionInterrupt any time; the AI pauses when you start speaking
Camera or screenNot in Live; Advanced mode on mobile onlyCamera streaming and screen sharingNot mentionedAttached photo stays in context; no live camera
Can it actWeb search, memory, visual widgetsNo Gems; camera and screen contextConnected tools with permission (Gmail, Slack and others)Image, video and song generation, image editing, web search, connected apps
VoicesNine standard voicesSelectable, availability varies by languageSeveral, with pace control on mobileSix: Ash, Echo, Verse, Alloy, Coral, Shimmer
TranscriptSaved with the chat; audio kept 30 daysShown when you end the sessionNot stated in the help articleSaved to chat history with a Voice badge, captions during the call
ModelGPT-Live-1 or GPT-Live-1 miniNot namedFastest version of your last Claude modelOpenAI gpt-realtime-mini, gpt-4o-mini-transcribe for transcripts
Trains on your voiceNot on clips unless shared; transcripts if "Improve the model" is onPer Gemini Apps Privacy Hub and activity settingsNot stated for voiceNo, Krater does not train on user content
SourceOpenAI helpGoogle helpAnthropic helpKrater

Prices are US list in USD. OpenAI has paused new sign ups to the $200 Pro plan; the $100 Pro plan is open.

Price and limits: what $20 buys you

This is where the four differ most, so do the arithmetic for your own habit.

Plain reading: if voice is your main use and you talk for an hour a day, ChatGPT Plus is the best value of the four. If voice is one thing you do among many, Krater's credit pool means you are not paying for hours you do not use, and Claude's free voice costs nothing on top of what you already have.

Platforms: where you can actually talk

Gemini Live is the outlier. Google's help page says "Gemini Live isn't available in the Gemini web app", so it is phones and tablets only, plus a shortcut from Pixel Buds. ChatGPT Voice is on web, iOS and Android. Claude voice mode is on "Claude Mobile (iOS and Android), Claude Desktop, and the web". Krater Voice Mode runs in the browser on desktop and mobile; there is no separate app to install and nothing to update.

Seeing: camera and screen

Gemini Live wins this outright. You can "stream video and share your screen", switch cameras and talk about what it sees, on every plan. ChatGPT moved its real time mode to Live, which "does not initially support video, screen sharing"; you have to switch back to the older Advanced option on mobile for those. Krater's approach is a photo you attach at the start, which the AI keeps in context for the whole session, useful for "what is this error" or "describe this product for a listing" but not for live pointing. Anthropic's voice mode article does not mention camera or screen at all.

Acting: what the voice can do besides talk

Here Krater is the outlier. Its voice session has tools wired in: generate an image (Flux 2 by default), generate a video, generate a song, edit an image, search the web, and any app you have connected to Krater. You can say "make a square version of this photo with a white background" and get the image in the chat while you keep talking. Read how it works in Voice Mode on Krater.

ChatGPT Live has web search and memory and shows visual widgets, and OpenAI says it "does not initially support ... connected apps, or plugins". Claude voice mode can use your connected tools such as Gmail and Slack, and "will ask for permission before using one of your connected tools". Gemini Live has the camera and screen as context but cannot use your Gems.

One thing none of the four does: answer or place phone calls for you. That is a separate product category (business phone agents such as Retell or Vapi, priced per minute of call) and it is not what any of these voice modes is for.

Models: what is talking back

OpenAI is explicit: Live runs GPT-Live-1 on Plus and above, GPT-Live-1 mini on Free and Go. Anthropic is explicit in a different way: voice "can use the same Claude models you use in text chat", starting with the one you last used, in its fastest version. Google's help page does not name the Live model. Krater's speech runs on OpenAI's gpt-realtime-mini, with gpt-4o-mini-transcribe producing the transcript; we say that plainly rather than imply a house model. What Krater adds is the tool layer, the credit billing, and the surrounding workspace, not a different voice engine.

Privacy: what happens to the audio

OpenAI keeps audio clips from Live and Advanced conversations with the transcript for 30 days and does not use them for training unless you choose to share them; transcripts can be used if "Improve the model for everyone" is on in Data Controls. Google points Live users to its Gemini Apps Privacy Hub, where handling depends on your activity settings. Anthropic's voice mode article does not include a voice specific training statement; its general consumer policy applies. Krater's policy is that it does not use your data to train AI models, and voice sessions are saved to your history as text, not audio.

How to start each one

Which one to pick

Frequently Asked Questions

Is ChatGPT Voice free?

Free accounts get "limited access to GPT-Live-1 mini". Go ($8) gets 3 hours a day on the mini model, Plus ($20) gets 3 hours a day on GPT-Live-1, Pro $100 gets 15 hours and Pro $200 is unlimited, all on a rolling 24 hour basis.

Does Gemini Live work on desktop?

No. Google's help page says Gemini Live is not available in the Gemini web app. It runs in the Gemini app on Android and iOS, and can be started from Pixel Buds.

Is Claude voice mode free?

Yes. Anthropic describes it as a beta feature available on all plans including Free, on mobile, desktop and web. It shares your plan's general usage limit.

How much does Krater Voice Mode cost?

0.25 credits per second of active conversation, which is 15 credits a minute. Sessions run up to 30 minutes. It is included in the Pro ($20, 1,500 credits), Ultra ($49, 4,000 credits) and Max (from $119, 10,000 credits) plans and is not available on free or guest accounts.

What is the difference between voice dictation and voice mode?

Dictation converts your speech to text and the reply comes back as text. Voice mode is a two way spoken conversation you can interrupt. ChatGPT's Standard option transcribes first and then speaks, turn by turn; Live listens and speaks at the same time. Claude's push to talk still answers out loud. On Krater, /transcribe is dictation and Voice Mode is the spoken session.

Which voice assistant can see my screen?

Gemini Live streams camera and screen on Android and iOS. ChatGPT offers video and screen sharing only in the Advanced voice option on mobile, not in Live. Krater keeps a photo you attach in context. Claude's help centre does not mention camera or screen for voice.

Bottom Line

On documented features alone: ChatGPT Voice for the most talk time per dollar, Gemini Live for a voice that sees, Claude for free voice on the models you already use, and Krater Voice Mode when you want the voice to generate, search and act inside the call, billed only for the seconds you talk. None of the four is best at everything; pick by the one thing you will do most.